Mostly Metal Challenge Reveal!

You might remember my post a few weeks ago about Michelle Mach’s Mostly Metal Challenge.  And, you might remember, that today is the day we share our creations with all of you!!!

Participants purchased  a kit consisting of materials provided by B’sue Boutiques.  I chose the Antique Brass Romantic Kit, pictured below.

Here is my completed design.   I’ve decided to call this piece “Unchain My Heart.”  The name refers to the fact that the necklace comes apart, and the metal portion may be worn as a charm bracelet.   My inspiration for this piece comes from a couple of places.  First, I have a great fondness for Sarah Coventry jewelry.   One of the great selling features of the jewelry was the versatility.  Pieces could be connected, disconnected and/or combined to make totally new pieces.  Secondly, I have spent much of the past 6 months learning from one of the best – Brenda Sue Lansdowne, who just happens to be the person behind B’sue Boutiques.  Brenda has discussed making convertible pieces several times, and I think it’s a great idea!

Here is the bracelet part on its own.

Please take a look at the slideshow at the end of this post for additional views.

Please take a few minutes to look at all of the particpant’s entries. Here are links to all of them.

Antique Brass Romantic

Filigree Fun

Gunmetal Love

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Mostly Metal Challenge Reveal!

  1. JeannieK says:

    It’s like two-fer-one! Very versatile, such a great idea. Really like how you colored some of the metal pieces.

  2. Pam says:

    And I’d been wondering what in the world I might do with that pink/peach cab and here it stands out just fine on its own. Lovely idea and great piece. Love the convertible style!

    • pinkchapeau says:

      Honestly, that pink cab was tough for me, too, because I wasn’t sure how to incorporate it….but then I realized it fit perfectly on the “oui” charm….and a little E6000 did the trick!

  3. jean yates says:

    So pretty! You conjured up a poem to nature!

  4. Jenny says:

    Lovely necklace! What a great idea to combine the bracelet into the necklace!

  5. Lola says:

    Terry ~ Love the colors, the asymmetry and the versatility! Beautiful work!

  6. What a good idea to make a convertible piece! I really like how you used the Sari ribbon with the simple wire wrapping to connect it to the rest of the necklace. Clever!

    Thanks for joining the challenge!

    • pinkchapeau says:

      Thank you Michelle, for hosting the challenge. I loved doing this, and I look forward to many more. I love using the ribbon, and the wire wrap technique seemed to connect it fine, and leave it a little organic looking.

  7. lutkaandco says:

    Oh, how lovely! and versatile too – Nice!

  8. Cyndi L says:

    Unchain My Heart! The perfect name for a beautiful set! I love the colors and how you incorporated all the elements 🙂

  9. Sarah S says:

    I love how you colored the metal charms! Really makes a kit your own.

  10. This is just so happy! It is carefree and child-like, but not at all simple, so versatile! I really like it!

  11. Nice! Love the versatility of your piece. I think it’s great when a piece can do double-duty! What I think I like best is how the texture and brightness of the yellow of the sari silk is balanced with the dangles. How wonderful!

  12. Alice says:

    What a lovely piece. Very feminine with wonderful colors.

  13. pinkchapeau says:

    Thank you, Alice. I was very happy with how all of the colors worked together 🙂

  14. This is so lovely. The fabric really gives it an organic look. Love all the different elements. Excellent. ‘=_

  15. Stephanie LaRosa says:

    Great job! I love how you added the color to the charms. Red, pink and green work so well together!

  16. How beautiful! They look like a garden you can wear and have summer all year long.

  17. Pingback: Fall Challenge Update | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

Leave a Reply

