Not All Challenges Come With Beads

As you probably know, I’m BIG on challenges.  They are fun, and they help me learn about new techniques, and work with materials I wouldn’t normally pick for myself.    But not all challenges in life are chosen…some are just thrown at you, and things are not as easy to put together as a beaded necklace.

I live in upstate New York, and I’ve been updating my Facebook page since Hurricane Irene with information about the damage in my area.  Sadly, it seems like most of the country has no idea what is happening here.  Literally, thousands of people – friends and neighbors – have been devastated by flooding caused by Irene.  This part of New York is full of pretty little mountain streams which literally became raging torrents as Irene moved through.

On Monday, Labor Day, we traveled downstate to Katonah in Westchester County to do Cord Shows Lasdon Antique show.  Knowing the damage up here at home, I was curious to see what it was like down there.  Westchester, Rockland  and Putnam counties were all hit pretty hard.  There were wires hanging and broken trees everywhere.  You couldn’t drive without passing by a utility crew, or a tree crew, and the Red Cross was everywhere.  Many parts of the area were still without power on Monday.

Tonight, many of the upstate areas that were just beginning to clean up were hit with heavy rains, and flooding once again-in Rensselaer, Schenectady, Schoharie, Montgomery and Greene counties.   Whether they wanted it or not, the residents are meeting their challenge head on.   Thousands of homes have been destroyed.  People lost all of their belongings. Farmers lost all of their crops-for many, the year will be a huge loss.

I’ve known this all along, but this challenge has shown me that the people of Upstate New York are tough.  They are not waiting around for someone to make it all better.  Volunteers have been donating time, money and personal belongings.   If you were one of the lucky ones who Irene left unscathed, or if you had a power outage for a few hours or a few days, or had to take a detour to work, please take a moment to think about those who are left with nothing.  There is still plenty of time to give and to help.

My friends traveled to Windham this past weekend to help with the cleanup, and they shared these pictures with me.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not All Challenges Come With Beads

  1. Thank you so much for this post. I think that it is easy to forget the impact of storms in the United States. For instance, Hurricane Irene which impacted almost the entire east coast, the fires in Texas, the tornadoes in the southeast, Tropical Storm Lee in the gulf. Thank you for sharing the photos too.

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    I think the 24/7 news cycle overwhelms people, and they just stop paying attention after a while. Soon, one disaster just seems to roll into another. I don’t want the individuals affected to be forgotten. This past month has been hard for a lot of areas of our country.

  3. pinkchapeau says:

    And I am one of the lucky ones who has not directly been impacted.

  4. I live in rural Northeast PA, we had a 5 1/2 day power outage, and lots of downed trees and power lines. When we got tired of living like animals, scrounging for food and water, we did stop and thank God for the house with a good roof, and a solid foundation, to sleep in each night. There were so many, with no home or no car. It is overwhelming. So many have said, “I can’t imagine” and that is the truth for all of us, it is hard for us to imagine what the other person is going through.

    • pinkchapeau says:

      HI, Ruth, I am thankful, too. What a crazy weather day we had here again…..more floods, more road closures. I heard that over 100,000 people were being evacuated in PA due to the Susquehanna flooding…..your situation is probably very similar to upstate NY.

  5. Me, my daughter and grandson went to Howe Caverns over the week and seen the devastation in Schoharie County. All I can say is, “Unbelievable”! The damage was massive! I saw what a hurricane could do to a small town and think about what it did to Louisiana with Katrina. It was a very sad sight. But you are right everyone was outside cleaning up the mess. We in upstate NY know how to help out our neighbors, and when disaster strikes we band together in force! Thanks for your post. Everyone should know and see what’s happening here.

  6. pinkchapeau says:

    Connie, I haven’t seen Schoharie County in person, but I am told it is among the worst hit places. On another note, and a bit more pleasant, I’m curious to find out how you like the new Howe Caverns!

Leave a Reply

