Bead Soup Blog Party Reveal Day!!!!!

Yup, it’s finally here!  Can you beleive it?  Many thanks to Lori Anderson, who managed to pull all of this together somehow!!

Like so many others, I spent a fair amount of time putting mine together, and then dismantling it again.  In the end, I decided to go with a fairly simple strung design. Because I had such a wide variety of beautiful beads, I wanted the presentation to be simple to showcase the lovely beads that my partner Tara Plote picked out for me.  Without further ado, here is what I came up with.  This piece is called “Memories of Maine” in honor of Tara.

Tara had given me two toggles to choose from.  In the end, I went with the Tierra Cast toggle, but I didn’t like the shiny silver finish with the earthy beads. So I distressed the toggle with some Verdigris Gilders Paste.  Lately I’m focusing on asymetrical pieces, but for this one, I wanted a bit of symmetry, too…I think I found the balance between the two ends of the spectrum.  What do you think?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have some pieces left over, so I’m in the process of finishing a couple of other designs, which I’ll post at a later date.  In the end, I’m glad that I only have this piece to focus on here.

Unfortunately, for most of this weekend, I will not be available to visit and comment on YOUR entries….but I will get to it as soon as I can!!  In the meantime, please accept my generic and bland (but heartfelt!) thanks to all of you!

Since this party is not just about me, I won’t bore you with any more details (unless you want to know something-in that case, just ask and I’ll fill you in!)  Instead, I’d recommend that you get moving and try to visit the rest of the participant’s blogs.  Here is a link to Lori’s page with the official list!  Have fun!!

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Bead Soup Blog Party Reveal Day!!!!!

  1. i think it is just gorgeous and so aptly named.

  2. What a gorgeous piece.
    Perfectly balanced!

  3. Line Labrecque says:

    Great job, oh isn’t this fun.

  4. I love this! It is simply lovely 🙂

  5. Really lovely. Great piece. 😉

  6. Kym Hunter says:

    This is a beautiful design and appropriately named! Very lovely!

    Enjoy your weekend!

  7. Regina says:

    Great name, sea blues and green, sandy brown and white pearls. Lovely necklace, like the flip flop charm, nice touch.

  8. Niky says:

    Such a lovely beachy feel!

  9. Lovely! What a good idea to patina the toggle. I’m so happy I bought my Gilder’s Paste–it’s really come in handy! The charm and pendant combination is really cute–sets the tone of the whole necklace.

  10. OoOhh! What a fun design! Love the eclectic design and the flip flop charm is very whimsical!

  11. lorelei says:

    Great beading here! I love the asymmetrical design and that focal is really sweet. I love Maine too!

  12. That is gorgeous. I love the pendant, and the charm is really fun!

  13. emanda says:

    Great collection of beautiful beads, you did them proud! We’re all being pushed outside our comfort zones — with amazing results!

    Enjoy the hop,
    Emanda

    http://artemisiastudio.blogspot.com/2011/09/bead-soup-reveal.html

  14. I am SO sorry for being late — today our internet provider decided to crash. My stress level is through the roof, to say the least! They’re still working on it, but it’s like dial-up.

    How VERY cool to know now how to distress Tierracast. I’ve said many a bad word trying to oxidize it. The flip flop is a cute touch, and I love the texture (I’m a texture-lover these days!) You did a smashing job and you should be proud!

  15. Patty says:

    Beautiful beachy and organic ! Just like Maine! Beautiful work!

  16. Terri G. says:

    Soup-er Cool Design! Lovely color scheme too. Nothing has to stay they way we get it. Love the patina on the toggle..these are the touches that makes it all come together and work.

  17. Kristen says:

    This is a sweet and special piece!

  18. Tara says:

    Terry, it’s just lovely! Thanks for naming it on my behalf and it’s just gorgeous! It’s the perfect way to showcase the beads! I love that you treated the toggle with Gilder’s Paste – I recently found Brenda Sue’s video tutorials on how to use it and I’ve been lusting after it! You did a beautiful job and really did the beads justice! You’re a great partner!

  19. What a lovely necklace! So wearable.
    I have been hearing so many wonderful things about Gilder’s Paste. I think that I will have to pick some up.

  20. Tammy Jones says:

    Lovely necklace! Well named, too–it reminds me of Maine as well.

  21. Terry says:

    I’ve been into the asymmetric pieces too. I really love your piece, the flip flops is a great touch. Good job!!!!

  22. christine says:

    this certainly reminds me of our trip to maine…now i wanna go back! great necklace–fun and summer feel to it!

  23. Juli says:

    Very pretty!!!!!

  24. Sandra says:

    I would love a side-to-side comparison pic of the toggle before and after distressing it, if that’s possible? Everyone seems to be crazy about gilder’s paste (which is only available over here as a crazy expensive import, woe). I love your asymmetric-yet-not approach, and putting the clasp at the side where it can actually be seen. So many pretty clasps out there now … And that focal is just too gorgeous.

  25. I love the necklace, and I WANT all the details!! I love the details. I am a jewelry nerd. Those stick pearls are such a nice textural and color contrast with those earthy beads. Great job!

    I am just starting to use Gilder’s Paste – can’t wait to explore it more.

  26. Cathy Khoury says:

    Gorgeous piece! Really feels like I’m by the beach!! love the combinations!

  27. Ann Sherwood says:

    You really did manage to make it asymmetrical and symmetrical at the same time:) Very pretty and interesting too.

  28. Stephanie LaRosa says:

    beautiful necklace, I love the stick pearls with the stick shell beads.

  29. I think the symmetry worked great. Too much symmetry becomes ordinary and you made a wonderful looking piece. I love what you did to the clasp as well.

  30. vintagesusie says:

    OMGoodness…your soup is DELICIOUS my Friend!!! I adore your design, it’s truly stunning! Well done, another AMAZING cup of BEAD SOUP from a very talented designer!!! 😉

  31. Bobbie Rafferty says:

    That’s lovely – a really nice job highlighting both the focal and the clasp!

  32. Janna says:

    Well, I have never been to Maine, but this necklace reminds me on my walks along the north sea coasts. Simply beautiful and so well balanced! Excellent!

  33. Love all the texture and colour blocking here. Great necklace!

  34. Tamara says:

    very pretty, love the colours

  35. Glassbeadart says:

    What a wonderful necklace! Great color combination and gorgeous design!

  36. Beadaholique says:

    Really pretty!

    Andrea & Julie

  37. Very pretty! I love all the textures you’ve got going on 🙂

  38. Shannon C says:

    Wow I really love your necklace!

  39. Sara Hardin says:

    I really like the clasp on the side. Nice choice!

  40. Deb Bee says:

    Great job and I love the clasp on the side too.

  41. angela says:

    I love the longer stick like beads but I never know what to do with them. Your wonderful necklace has given me some inspiration, thanks!

  42. Kay says:

    I really like the way it turned out. I like the way you seemed to group the beads/colors. And the little flipflop charm looks great on the focal.

  43. Ok, I’ve been wanting to order some gilder’s paste, now I really need to! That was a great idea. I love the stacks of stick pearls, and the cluster of daggers. Daggers seem difficult to get right in a piece, and you hit it perfectly. This is a great design, and named for a great partner!

  44. Michelle says:

    Lovely–the call of the beach! Great job–I love all of the “stick” components.
    Michelle

  45. Stacey says:

    Such and fun and playful piece – love the little flipflop!!!

  46. maggie says:

    I love the ocean and this necklace reminds me of beach combing. Love it!

  47. Gorgeous necklace, really fun piece! I love how you used a variety of shapes and colors. Great design!

  48. astridboyce says:

    Wonderful work, I love the use of gilder’s paste (I’m totally addicted to the stuff, lol). I’d wear this all the time!

  49. Wendy says:

    Very pretty necklace! I love the flip flop charm with the focal! Great job!

  50. I am so sorry I am so late , but my computer dug in it’s heels and said I’m nota-gonna go that fast:^)
    Your designs are nothing short of amazing.
    Be blessed to be a blessing

  51. emanda says:

    Lovely necklace. Makes me want to take off my shoes and walk on the beach. We’re all being pushed outside our comfort zones — with amazing results!

    Enjoy the hop,
    Emanda
    http://artemisiastudio.blogspot.com/2011/09/bead-soup-reveal.html

  52. leilakitty says:

    A lovely necklace incorporating all the different beads which flow together so well, really pretty.

  53. Serena Trent says:

    I’m loving the casual beachy feel of this design. You did a great job!

  54. Tracy says:

    Beautifully balanced and a lovely design.

  55. Pingback: Leftovers!!! YUM!!! | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

  56. Melissa Muir says:

    That turned out great! I love the whole asymmetry. You did a wonderful job with all the pieces you were given!

  57. Vee says:

    What a wonderful earthy FUN piece, Terry! Love the colors and the fact that you distressed the toggle with gilder’s paste and it is on the side…LOVELY! ;o)

  58. Beautiful necklace! I really like the feeling of water and seaside/riverside I get from it. I like that it’s happening things in the design and also details like the coloured clasp.

    Your “leftovers” look lovely too (I’m working on my jewellery for the sari ribbon party right now.)

  59. CraftyHope says:

    I think your necklace is simply divine. I dig the beachiness of it as well as the colors you used (some of my favorites) It came out really well. You should be proud!

  60. vonna says:

    Oh so pretty, great job… and I do like the symmetry! I am still blog hopping and commenting too. Thanks for visiting my blog.

  61. I just visited today and I love what you did with both of your necklaces they are gorgeous. Your photo display is awesome way to feature the necklace.

  62. chicandfrog says:

    Symmetrical in colours but asymmetrical in shapes. A great combination!

    Ambra

  63. Carol B says:

    I love what you made, especially the new color of the toggle!

  64. Allison says:

    Really love the asymmetrical design (something I can’t do) and the beachy feel of the necklace.

  65. coffeeaddict says:

    so moch joy and positive energy are captured in your pieces 🙂

  66. Pingback: Still Hopping!!! | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

  67. You did a great job of balance without matching each bead for symmetry! These are my favorite colors so this really speaks to me. It is beautiful!

  68. I love what you’ve done with your Bead Soup! Beautiful!!!

  69. Beautiful work! I’m loving the leftovers as much as the beachy feel of the original. You’ve made some delish soup!

  70. Melissa says:

    Oh my gosh I love the color combination here – the rich blues and turquoise! I also really like how you distressed the toggle so it “went” better. I really like the asymmetry here – the toggle looks totally fab on the side!

  71. natasha l says:

    i really like how you used the dagger shaped beads–i see them often, but have yet to like them in a design. thank you for that! i especially love the small stacks of pearl–very inspiring. wish i had time to pull some of mine out right now and play!!!

  72. Miri Agassi says:

    Love your design!! so interesting and still have a balance!! Very well done!!

  73. Great work- I love the shape of the creamy white pearls and that you used them in multiples.
    They really add to the beachy vibe.

    Beautiful work.

    Cathie

  74. SallyA says:

    I LOVE this piece. I’m so impressed when someone does the asymmetrical thing and gets it perfect and you sure did. Love those flat pearls (never seen them before) and the daggers and how you put it all together so beautifully!

  75. Cheryl Roe says:

    Very beachy. Love it.

  76. lissc says:

    Your necklace turned out sooo pretty! I love beach colors. Very soothing. I actually have those long beads (not sure the proper name for them), and haven’t figured out what to do with them yet, so it was fun to see them in your necklace. I am with you, this hoping is taking a long time. I just hope i’m done hoping before the next blog party.

  77. chris says:

    ‘love the necklace, love the design, textures and colors

  78. Cilla says:

    Beautiful. I love all the different colors and texture!

  79. I think you did a great job combining all of the different kinds of beads. It has a nice flow and bears a really nifty name!

  80. Lola says:

    I love the details of this design! So lovely!

  81. cryssT says:

    What a pretty necklace – how nice.

  82. Karyn B says:

    It’s lovely, and I think you did find a nice balance with the way you chose your colors and broke up all the yummy blue with the pearls. Lovely!

  83. Pingback: Fall Challenge Update | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

  84. Cynthia says:

    What a beautiful beachy themed piece. Nicely done!

  85. CJ Bauschka says:

    Very nice, makes me think of the beaches in Miami where I grew up.

  86. Judy says:

    I really love your design…it all works so well together.

  87. Love the colours in your soup and how you put it all together. Cute little element next to your lovely focal. ( I want to call it a ‘thong”..as that is what we call them here in Australia….but I know you have a different name but don’t know what it is!) You also have some wonderful texture in there…
    jenni

  88. Genea says:

    I love the use of pearls and dyed shells with your oceany beachy theme 🙂

  89. Pingback: Michelle Mach Fall Challenge “Very Vintage” Reveal | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

  90. Jackie says:

    Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a comment. What a wonderful necklace this is I do like something a bit interesting and different very well done!

  91. Fabulous! I love the clasp on the side! You did a great job with your soup. I am not very brave when it comes to asymmetrical design, but yours is perfect!

  92. Pingback: Time for Soup Again! (Bead Soup, That Is!!!) | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

Leave a Reply

