Michelle Mach Fall Challenge “Very Vintage” Reveal

It’s here!!!   And boy, did I take this one down to the wire.  In fact, I just finished my necklace about 2 hours ago, and minutes ago, I finished uploading my pictures.  I didn’t intend for it to be that way, but I made a couple of design errors that I had to rework.  And for this challenge, I told myself that I would not use ribbon since the Sari Ribbon blog hop is coming up, but I ended up using it here anyway.  It was the best way to correct one of my design flaws, and in the end, I liked how it looked. (If you want to know what my original kit looked like, click here.)

I’ve been wanting to do a necklace with a front closure for a long time, and when I saw the  lucite teardrops, and the branch, I immediately saw them as a toggle.  I tried the open teardrop with the branch, and I just didn’t like it.  Then I remembered I had an oversized split ring in my stash that I had gotten as a little freebie from B’Sue Boutiques ( she ALWAYS includes little treats in your order).  I tried that with the branch, and it didn’t look overwhelmed.

Once the toggle was in place, the rest of the necklace took shape pretty easily.  I added in some copper leaf stampings, copper chain and copper Swarovski crystals from my stash. However, at the end, I realized my lengths of chain were a bit too short.  I tried linking them with braided strands of complimentary color seed beads, but it looked too stiff.  So once again, I pulled out my stash of Sari, and used that on the neckline.

I was going to use the filigree pieces from the kit as connectors in the necklace, but I didn’t like the look. (That’s one reason the chain was too short-after I took off the filigrees, I lost about an inch and a half on each side.)Instead,  I colorized them with Lumiere Pearl Turquoise, and attached Ice de Crystal flowers from Jewels Designs, and accented them with Swarovski crystals that Tara Plote had included with my Bead Soup.  Voila!  One pair of earrings!

Here’s a close up view of the filigree treated with the lumiere.  I love the aged look it gives it.

I also made a second pair of earrings with the red glass beads.  I combined them with 3mm Swarovski crystals, and copper leaves leftover from the necklace.

Thank you, Michelle, for putting this together!  I am already looking forward to the next one.  Here’s the list of everyone participating in this current challenge:

Andrew
The Writing and Art of Andrew Thornton

Cat
Boo Beads

Chris
beadjewelry.net

Cilla
Tell Your Girlfriends

Cyndi
Beading Arts

Cynthia
Cynth’s Blog

Dawn
Morning Glory Beading

Donetta
Simply Gorgeous

Heather
As I Bead It

Holly
SilverRose Designs

Kate
We Can Make That at Home

Kristina
Wild Roses and Blackberries

Lauren
Laurel Moon Jewelry & Beads

Linda
Lutka & Co

Lisa
Lucid Mood Studio

Lola
Bead Lola Bead

Mary
MLH Jewelry

Melinda
Melinda Orr Metal & Clay Jewelry Designs

Michelle H.
Firefly Visions

Michelle M.
Beads & Books

Salla
Blog by Salla

Shannon
Falling into the Sky

Shay
Shaiha’s Ramblings

Shel
MiShel Designs

Shirley
Beads and Bread

Stephanie
Pixybug Designs

Tari
Pearl and Pebbles

Terry
Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

Tracy
The Bead Junkie

Here are some additional views of my creations.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Michelle Mach Fall Challenge “Very Vintage” Reveal

  1. Deb Bee says:

    love this necklace. perfect for fall. I really like those black rings I got from B’Sue also. I will have to show what I did with one of mine in a ooky necklace.

  2. Love that necklace with the silk and the clasp is really a great idea! Great use of your beads!

  3. Great necklace. I adore the addition of the olive colour in the ribbon. Gorgeous. 😉

  4. Lola says:

    Using the branch as one half of a toggle? What a BRILLIANT idea!!! Beautiful necklace and earrings, Terry!

  5. That clasp is a totally awesome idea! I love it! Enjoy the day! Erin

  6. Beautiful autumn necklace (love acorns)! I really like the design and the ribbon finishes it off so well. It goes so nice together with the wavy leaf charms. The branch toggle clasp is fab! I love the turquoise earrings too: cute flowers (had to check out that shop) and the colouring makes the filigree look so pretty.

    See you at the sari ribbon party!

  7. I think it was meant to be for the chain to fall short, cause that ribbon is perfect! Love the way this necklace came together. Thank you for showing the filigree with the colorization. Totally love that idea. You really created some beautiful pieces.

  8. Michelle B. says:

    Fabulous use of your kit – and that clasp is so cool! Love the designs – all of them are fantastic!

  9. salla says:

    I love the idea of using the branch as a toggle! wonderful!

  10. Pretty! Love the way you made the toggle with the branch! Very fun!

  11. Cyndi L says:

    The earrings are wonderful, but the necklace is fantastic!! Love the ribbon 🙂

  12. Your jewelry is so pretty! I really love the Sari ribbon–seems like the perfect finishing touch for the necklace. And I love how you used the branch as a toggle in the front. Eye-catching!

    Hope to see you in a future challenge!

  13. lutkaandco says:

    Love the sari on the necklace – it give it a wonderfully soft touch! Very pretty!

  14. Tari says:

    GREAT idea for the use of the branch!!!! Your necklace is just stunning!

  15. Chris says:

    Ah, lovely colors and textures!

  16. Love the fuzzies, and the overall design is awesome!

  17. Cynthia says:

    Love the necklace – the sari silk and the use of the branch as toggle – very cute and clever!

  18. Laurel says:

    I love the necklace! Absolutely scrumptious, so lush and so well-balanced. Wonderful piece!!

  19. Teri, you never cease to amaze me. The necklace is stunning (as always). I am in love with the 2nd pair of earrings and I know that Connie will be excited to see some of her Ice de Crystal flowers included.

  20. Mary Govaars says:

    I love your use of the ribbon with the chain it makes it so fun to want to wear!

  21. Holly says:

    Beautiful pieces you’ve created with these awesome goodies! That necklace is so swingy and full of motion – I just love it!

  22. pinkchapeau says:

    Thank you everyone for stopping by to leave a comment. I appreciate hearing all of your thoughts! I really enjoyed this challenge, and I look forward to the next one!

  23. Cilla says:

    I love how you used the filigree brass bits to hold the flower for the earrings.
    I love the red dimple beads in the next set of earrings. I didn’t get those in my kit. Great work.

  24. Tracy says:

    Beautiful necklace design, love your use of ribbon and mixed metals.

  25. Great job. I always love a necklace with the clasp in the center front. It is a very pretty piece.

Leave a Reply

