A Stitch in Time

I love making jewelry….no doubt about that.  I love learning new techniques, and working with new mediums.  But sometimes I get overwhelmed!  Does that happen to you?  Do you scroll thru Etsy shops, and start thinking about working with metals, or wire wrapping, or sead beads, or polymer clay, or lampwork, or ceramics because it looks so great?  I do.  Then I think…well, I can’t be good at everything… plus if I buy beads or clasps from this or that designer, then I’m supporting thier shop, too.  Still, there is that part of me that wants to learn all of it!!  But in the few hours I have every week to spend on my jewelry business, it’s just not going to happen quickly.

One thing I have pursued is bead stitching and loom weaving.  I just love the way beadworkers create works of art with these tiny colorful beads.  I have mentioned this book  by Lesley Warren before:

and I would say that if you want to learn bead stitching, this would be the book to start with.  Lesley tells you exactly what to buy, and you can use the book as a text and go thru the “lessons” one by one, and creating a piece with each lesson.

This weekend, I was horribly sick…not cold or flu sick, but sick enough that I really couldn’t do too much of anything.  I’ll skip the details…you won’t enjoy them.  I used my time at home laying in bed to reacquaint myself with this book.   I picked up at Project (Lesson, to me) 11, the Striped Herringbone Bracelet.  This project goes fairly quickly-the stitch moves quickly, and the bracelet used #8 seed beads.

Here is the result of my efforts.  (If you look at page 27 in the book, you can see the bracelet I made.)  You can see a couple of dropped stitches.  This has happened with EVERY stitch I have learned! Is that common?  The problem I have is that I don’t yet know how to go back and correct these errors without taking the whole thing apart.  If any beadworkers out there have any suggestions, I’d appreciate hearing from  you!

I’m so excited…the next lesson is a tubular herringbone necklace.  I’m also excited about combining this with my work with sari ribbon, bead stringing, and brass stampings.  I’ll let you know how that goes!

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Stitch in Time

  1. Deb Bee says:

    I think it looks wonderful. I got a pattern for a tie with tiger striping. It’s tucked away somewhere as are the beads i BOUGHT. I work in a factory and we’ve been having 6 day work weeks. When I come home I cook and do the dishes plus have a 2 hour drive round trip to work and back so I don’t have much time for crafting. I’d like to learn this one day!

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks, Debbie. I agree-time is the one resource that is always in short supply. As luck would have it, I spent a lot of time in bed this weekend!!!

  3. pinkchapeau says:

    When you finish the tie, I want to see it!

  4. I love the look of herringbone! I tend to go back and undo stitches, although I’ve been known to take scissors to a piece if there’s a lot to remove. (You can cut beadwork like fabric.) Of course, this assumes that I don’t permanently tape my beading to something, as you’ve read in my blog!

  5. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks Michelle, I have never tried cutting through (gasp!!) the work, but I suppose in some cases it may be the only way to save the patient 🙂

  6. Vee says:

    I think it looks great Terry! ;o) Sorry to hear you have been underthe weather and hope you are feeling better. Would love to see that Tie, too, Deb! ;o)

Leave a Reply

