First Snow

Yes, I said “First Snow.”  It’s October 27.  I was so unprepared for this in so many ways.  It seems like just yesterday, I was planting my garden. Tonight, when I look out the back window, the few plants that are left standing out there are covered with snow.

I think I can find my coat….but I have no idea where my boots are!  Not that I think I’ll be trudging through feet of snow tomorrow morning, but they do help keep my feet warm!

Tonight is the kind of night where I just want to cuddle up under a blanket.  You know…one of those cold and wet nights, where it takes you a bit longer to get home from work….and when you get home, you want to stay there.  Oh, to put on my jammies and some thick socks, and have a cup of hot chocolate!  Right now would be good, but unfortunately, I have to head out for an errand in a bit.  Brrrrrrrrrrr….it is supposed to go into the 20’s here tonight!

When I looked out my window earlier this evening, I saw the little boy across the way staring excitedly out the back window of his house.  He’s about 4 years old, and I suppose that to him, this is a GREAT day!   I do have to admit, that as much as I don’t like the thought of winter starting already, it is really pretty outside my window right now.

I hope I can find the 4 year old inside of me…..it’s going to be a long winter!!

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Snow

  1. cathyb says:

    oh no terry, SNOW already!!

  2. Wouldn’t every day be grand if we could find the 4 year old inside of us?

  3. Hilary Frye says:

    Wow! You’ve got Minnesota, beat! I’m sure we’re not too far behind! Have fun! First snows are always magical.

  4. pinkchapeau says:

    Yesterday, we had the big storm travel through the area. Near my home, we only got about 3 inches, and nothing accumulated on the streets. But we were at a friends house about an hour south of here in the afternoon, and they had about 7 inches. It was snowing so hard when we left their house to head home here, we couldn’t see the road. We were part of a long line of cars traveling at 30 mph in a preexisting set of tire tracks through the snow!!

  5. Vee says:

    I agree with you Terry…I am so not looking forward to Mr. Winter! ;o) We haven’t seen any snow as of yet but, I have already had evenings where I, too, wanted to cuddle with a blankey and hot coco! ;o) First snows are always beautiful especially after all the rain and wind whisp all the beautiful fall foliage away. Hope you stay safe and warm! ;o)

Leave a Reply

