Hoping for a Better December

Better than what, you ask?  Better than November!

You can see that I really haven’t blogged much this month….and nothing new has been added to the Etsy shop, and my Ebay listings are nearly non existent.  I’m feeling very frustrated right now, and and irritated and stressed out with my world.

There have been numerous small irritations this month, but the BIG events have really made the small ones seem worse than tney were.  Initially, in mid-October, I became ill with what my doctor and I have since (sort of) determined may be diverticulitis.  When the symptoms first came on, I had a lot of pain and discomfort.  Based on the fact that the symptoms worsened after eating, we approached treatment from the standpoint that it was diverticulitis.

I went on a clear liquid diet for 3 days, then I went on a course of antibiotics that really took the wind out of my sails.  For two weeks, I was tired, headachy, nauseous, dizzy, and nothing tasted good.  I had no energy, and after I got home from work at night, I basically crashed.  No jewelry making.  No jewelry selling.  No blogging.

In mid November, just when I was starting to feel good again, the world came crashing in, literally.   On a Monday night, about two weeks ago, I was in bed sleeping, and my husband was in the living room watching TV.  It was about 11:30.  Just then two young males (maybe 20 ish?) pulled up at the end of our driveway, got out of their car, and approached the house.  They pounded on the door, demanding access.  My husband was able to fend them off during an extended and loud interaction with them.  By then I had awoke because of the noise, and was calling 911.  In the end, they didn’t get in, but there was damage done to our doorframe.

Needless to say, I didn’t sleep that night, and barely the next night.  My husband and I catnapped in shifts for the next week, not knowing if they would be back.

Our house is well lit, and in a quiet, middle class family neighborhood.  The nearest my husband and I could figure, we surmised it was a random home invasion, possibly as part of a gang initiation.  The police arrived after the attackers had fled, and there was really nothing for them to do.  They did drive around a bit, and patrolled the area during the evening.

Never in a million years would I expect this to happen at my home, but it did, and I know this will affect me for a long time.  By the end of the week, I was exhausted and stressed out beyond beleif.  I can’t say for sure if that led to a relapse of my illness, but on the following Saturday, at 5AM, I woke in such pain that I could hardly move.  I could not sit, stand, or lay comfortably.  I woke my husband (still sleeping on the couch), and he took my to the hospital.

My blood pressure was very low, and I was dehydrated, so they gave me an IV.  Several tests were done, with unfortunately, no conclusive results.  The doctor once again put me on a clear liquid diet for two days, and sent me home with a prescription for Tylenol 3.   I pretty much spent the past weekend in bed.

That leads us to Thanksgiving -and the end of November.  I really just want to feel “normal” again, and get back into the jewelry world which is leaving me behind.  I totally missed out on Black Friday sales, and Small Business Saturday sales.  I just couldn’t do it.

I do still have time to get ready for Christmas, but I’m also coming into what is the busiest month of the year for me at my job.  If  all of this sounds a bit like I am feeling sorry for myself, it’s not really that…it’s more a frustration over losing control of my life.  I’m hoping that the joy, love, and peace of the Christmas season will surround me and my family-and yours, too!

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hoping for a Better December

  1. cathyb says:

    Terry, many ,many thoughts of healing and better days ahead for you from here on long island—of course you are drained physically and emotionally! Since I am a nurse, I assume your doc did and endoscopy and colonoscopy and found nothing except the diverticuli– Feel better soon–you will be back on your feet, and still plenty of December left to make/ sell/blog. xoxo cathy buckley

  2. Ellen Wodoslawsky Gonchar says:

    Terry……..I was so sorry to read of your health issues and then the attempted break in at your home. How frightening that was!!! Your feeling overwhelmed right now is totally understandable and you shouldn’t beat yourself up for not having a full shop!! Trust me, that just leads to more stress and yes…stress can cause diverticulitis to act up. I’m with Cathy…..get a good gastroenterologist especially if you get another attack. First thing is to take care of yourself and the other will fall back into place. You are such a wonderful and special gal…..wishing you some calm times and for the joy, peace, and love of the upcoming days to wrap all around you.
    Hugs your way…………
    Ellen xoxoxoxo

  3. Beanzie-The Vintage Heart says:

    Oh my gosh Terry! How scary is that! I am so glad they didn’t come in and you are guys are safe! We had some break ins here too and they tried to get into my house while I was home but went to the next house…but I did hear noises but nothing as brazen as someone demanding access like that! No wonder you are feeling sicker..it seemed like when the break ins happened here my colon problems acted up as well. I have had UC for many years and have been in and out of the hospital etc…doctors..Yes you need a good gastro that can figure out what is wrong with your colon. Get a endoscopy and colonoscopy if you have not already done so. It really does turn your world upside down! Prayers are with you! xoxo Lisa aka Beanzie

  4. pinkchapeau says:

    Cathy, Lisa, and Ellen,
    Thanks so much for your warmth, friendship and encouragement!! It means a lot for me,and definitely lifted me up!! Hugs to all of you!

  5. Terry
    I am so sorry that you have been having such a rough time lately. I will definitely be praying for your health and safety. ~ Much Love

  6. Vee says:

    I had read prior that you were under the weather but, didn’t realize to this extent, Terry. I certainly pray that you find an explaination and comfort soon. Sometimes a break, time to rejuventate, a little R &R, is good but, certainly not in this way. {{{HUGS}}}

    I am glad to hear that you all are safe, too. I can absolutely relate to your fears from your attempted break in as well. To some, we are considered living “out in the boonies”. However, our property is backed up to an interstate that runs through our state. We’ve had “many” unexpected episodes since moving here. Too many when my husband worked nights and I was home alone with a newborn, many guns and rifles. I still never felt safe enough to get a good nights sleep.

    I hope your Christmas brings so much peace and joy that November is swept away by the winter winds and creativity is restore with a burst…like fireworks.
    Thoughts and prayers to you and yours, Terry. {{{HUGS}}}

  7. pinkchapeau says:

    Vee and Michelle,
    thanks so much for your words of comfort. Knowing that I have such good jewel friends that can empathize helps make the hard times a bit easier.

Leave a Reply

