I’ve Got Those Old Bead Stringing, Crimp Squeezing, Knot Tying Blog Hop Blues!

Those are Happy Blues, just in case you were wondering!!  I’ve recently signed on to two new Blog Hop challenges.  If you read my prior post on design challenges, you know that they are such a positive influence on strengthening my creativity “muscles.”  Interestingly, enough, both of these challenges are centered around a blue theme-a color that I haven’t done much work with.  As you can imagine, I’m excited about digging into them!

Last week, I signed up for Michelle Mach’s Suddenly Spring Challenge.  I’ve done Michelle’s challenges once before, and she really makes it a lot of fun.  For this challenge, we recieved a kit that consisted of a stretchy bracelet of lovely blue crystals, interspersed with sparkly rondelles.  Michelle doesn’t stop with making the challenge materials beautiful-she packages everything so creatively, and with love, and makes you feel very special.

The package was tied with a pretty ribbon, and included a lovely paper cutout.  Somehow, I’m going to find a way to use both of them in future jewelry creation.  She also included a great postcard.

Of course, the real excitement came when I opened the box.  Not only did we recieve the pretty crystals, but she threw in some delicate silver findings.

Here’s a close up of the beads:

 The reveal date will be March 13-make sure you check back to see what I have made!

I am very excited about the second challenge, because it supports a great cause.  We will be making bracelets for the Global Genes Project.  This challenge is sponsored by Elysian Studios and One Kiss Creations Beaded Jewelry.

The Global Genes Project exists to raise awareness and support for the more than 30 million people affected by rare diseases.  There are currently over 7,000 rare diseases identified, and 75% of those affected are children.  With the 7000 Bracelets Campaign, the Children’s Rare Disease Network gives artists and crafters an opportunity to lovingly share their creative gifts with families who have a child suffering with a rare disease.  The Global Genes Project is asking 7,000 jewelry designers, volunteers from the craft community and various artists to donate one bracelet to this campaign to show thier support for kids living with rare disease, disorders or conditions. These bracelets will then be distributed to participating families.

The theme of the Global Genes project is “jeans,” and that is where the blue comes in.  The reveal date for this design will be on February 25.  Please stop back and see what I have made.  If you are able, please consider supporting the Global Genes project in their efforts as well.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’ve Got Those Old Bead Stringing, Crimp Squeezing, Knot Tying Blog Hop Blues!

  1. So excited that you are participating in both of these hops 🙂 I may not be able to hop with you in Michelle’s Suddenly Spring Challenge, but I will definitely be doing the 7000 Bracelets for Hope. Can’t wait to see what you make!

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    Me, too!! I have my “Genes” design forming in my head right now. I have absolutley no idea what I will do with Michelle’s challenge!! Plus, I’ve got to make some Easy Peasy Rings for B’sue’s group, too!!

  3. Thanks for sharing about the hop and inviting people to see what you’ve made! I am so excited you are participating and I can’t wait to see what you create!

  4. pinkchapeau says:

    Hi, Erin, thank you for stopping by and thank you for sponsoring this event. I am excited about making my bracelet…in fact, I have enough materials to make several!!!

Leave a Reply

