New Artist Spotlight – Wendigo Designs

One of the most rewarding side benefits about running my jewelry business is the great people I meet online.  I’ve been the recipient of much good advice,  lessons in technique, and promotional opportunities from some real superstars in this business.   As my business grows, I’m now finding myself in the position of being able to help encourage and introduce new artists on the scene.  I learned about Wendigo designs after they started following me on Twitter.

I followed the links to visit their shop, and I was intrigued by what I saw.  It was apparent that they were a new shop. Also apparent to me was the fun that they were having with their new endeavor.  They are not afraid to be playful with their materials and merchandise.  I ended up buying a unique pair of Barbie high heel earrings (In pink, of course!) after my first visit to the shop.

The earrings were shipped quickly, and packaged securely.  I received a nice handwritten thank you note with my order.  “Nice touch ♥,” I thought.  I contacted the shop owners for more information, and asked if they would like to be featured on my blog to introduce themselves to you.  They were thrilled, and so am I.   I asked them some general questions, and I’ll let them take over from here.

“There are three of us at WendigoDesigns, Whitney and Jazmine are identical twins and Gretta is their triplet in spirit! But Gretta’s older sister Devin also contributes occasionally.

We are all seniors in high school! We’ve known each other since kindergarten and we have remained close friends even after the twins moved from Seattle to Idaho before high school.

Whitney is really passionate about photography but her etsy specialty is in paper goods. Jazmine makes unique and funky jewelry and headbands and Gretta mainly works with Barbie odds and ends making jewelry.

We have always enjoyed making crafts but we first got started crafting on Etsy this December. We took a trip to California before our freshmen year in high school and we all decided that to go back right before our freshmen year in college would be really special! So we are hoping to save up and make some money for a Greyhound bus ride down to sunny southern California!

We learn new techniques from trial and lots and lots of error! But it’s always fun and we’ve really enjoyed learning all about starting a business and social networking!

We are inspired by our friendship, the world around us…and maybe the prospect of making money…!

Thank you so much for giving us this opportunity! We really appreciate it so much!”

You can visit Wendigo Designs here:

Etsy  http://www.etsy.com/shop/WendigoDesigns?ref=seller_info

Facebook  https://www.facebook.com/pages/WendigoDesigns/214216781995924

Twitter  https://twitter.com/#!/WendigoDesigns

Blog  http://wendigodesigns.blogspot.com/

 

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to New Artist Spotlight – Wendigo Designs

  1. Debra says:

    Thanks for featuring this shop. I did go take a look after reading this, and they have some really cute things! I wish them Good Luck with their business.

  2. They have a lot of unique ideas and an enthusiasm that comes with youth. I wish them the best of luck, I think they will go far.

  3. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks, Debra and Ruth! I think they will be successful, too. 🙂

  4. Nancy says:

    What adorable things you have in your shop!! Best of luck to all of you. All of the social networking you are doing will give you great exposure.

  5. Great job Terry!!!!!! I’m thrilled to see that you’re helping our fellow artist:-))))))) Great job to you girls, you’re a real inspiration to us all! Hope you make every penny you need to get to California! Love your designs.

    • pinkchapeau says:

      Thank you Connie, I know you have done this kind of thing several times….it feels good to write about someone else ♥ and I appreciate your comments. I hope they make it to California, too!!

  6. Ellen Wodoslawsky Gonchar says:

    I picked them up on all sites Terry………great blog and intro for them!!

  7. Vee says:

    What adorable and unique items at Wendigo Designs. Wishing them the best of luck as well as yourself. Thanks for introducing Wendigo Designs to us, Terry. ;o)

  8. pinkchapeau says:

    Thank you Vee. I appreciate your time and support…I know the gals at Wendigo do too!!!

  9. I went to check out their store.. They have some really cute items in there,, I wish them the best of luck with their creative endeavors.. Thanks so much for sharing them with us 🙂

Leave a Reply

