7000 Bracelets for Hope Blog Hop Reveal!!

Welcome!!! Thanks for stopping by to see what I have made!

Just to refresh your memories a little, the purpose of this blog hop was to support the Global Genes project. We are making bracelets for families of those with rare diseases.  You can read more about the Global Genes project here.  ” The Global Genes Project exists to raise awareness and support for the more than 30 million people affected by rare diseases. There are currently over 7,000 rare diseases identified, and 75% of those affected are children.  With the 7000 Bracelets Campaign, the Children’s Rare Disease Network gives artists and crafters an opportunity to lovingly share their creative gifts with families who have a child suffering with a rare disease.” (From Elysian Studios blog)

When I read about this blog hop, three things from the instructions guided me in my design.  First, we were told that we should do something in a blue/denim/jeans theme or color. Secondly, since we were not sure who we were making the bracelet for, we should make it adjustable. Thirdly, casual and simple ideas were welcome.

So, when I found blue denim felt(!!) in my travels, I thought “This will be perfect for the bracelet blog hop.”  Next, was finding beads to match. I found some cute dark blue acrylic beads with gold swirls that reminded me of the gold accent thread on Levis jeans.  I then chose Powercord in blue to string everything.  I’ve never worked with elastic cord before so there was a bit of a learning curve, but all in all, quite easy.  In the end, I decided that it might be fun to make coordinating freindship/family bracelets.  They can be worn together, or you can give one to a loved one.

The first one I made incorporated the felt.  I strung the felt in blocks to mimic beads, and alternated with the round beads.

The second bracelet has beads in the same pattern, but these are elongated, and for the life of me, I can’t think of the name of this style bead.  I had a brass Tree of Life charm, and I thought that would be fitting for this project.  I colorized it a bit with gilders paste.

Here’s the two bracelets together.

I took some additional photos which are incorporated into the slideshow below.  Following the slideshow is a list of all of the others who are participating in the hop.  Please be sure to visit their pages.  And of course, I want to thank Elysian Studios and One Kiss Creations for putting all of this together, and finding this wonderful organization that I am so happy to support.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to 7000 Bracelets for Hope Blog Hop Reveal!!

  1. These are fantastic!!! What an unique idea using the felt squares. It works so well with your design and looks great. The stacking/friendship bracelet idea is wonderful! They look great together but maybe someone wants to share. You will surely put a smile on someone’s face with these beautiful beads 🙂 Thank you so much for being a part of this!!!

  2. Sharyl says:

    Both of your bracelets are just delightful! I love your idea to use the navy beads with the gold running threw. The tree charm is perfect for the 2nd piece! And I never would have thought to use felt on the first one, but I really like that a lot! It looks cozy, comfortable, classy and creative! (I didn’t even set out to create an alliteration there!)

  3. Love the color of those beads.
    These will surely make someone very happy!

  4. Both bracelets are very pretty. I particularly like the denim felt and think that it adds great texture with these bracelets.

  5. beth says:

    The denim felt is very creative! I love the idea of creating a companion bracelet. It’s just like life: sharing always makes things better!

  6. HOW COOL! I love the mix of fiber and more traditional beads. LOVE.

  7. Deb Bee says:

    Nice job! Love the beads. I didn’t enter this year.

  8. Marla says:

    Oh wow I just love the one with the felt! What a great idea. One day I hope to be comfy enough to experiment more with mixed media in my pieces. There will be a couple of very thankful women that get to receive these.

  9. I the bracelets. The felt was genius. The shape of the beads in the second bracelet is known as “long twisted skinny on the ends thingies”…

  10. Sorry, my dog was helping me type the last comment and I meant to say that I “LOVE” the bracelets.

  11. Stacey says:

    Beautiful bracelets. I love the use of the felt squares.

  12. Susan says:

    Great ideas that you had, beautiful work!

  13. Just great bracelets! I love the subtle depth of color and the truly unique design!

  14. Michelle B. says:

    How cool is that felt?! Love this! I like the other bracelet, too – very appropriate with the “Tree of Life” pendant and I think that whoever receives these bracelets will truly appreciate them!! Beautiful designs, both of them.

  15. CraftyHope says:

    Those beads you found are really unique. I really like the shape of those elongated ones also. The felt in the first bracelet really is the perfect shade of denim. You did an excellent job with this project and made it look easy!
    I know whoever receives those bracelets will feel the hope you’ve extended to them.

  16. I just love the unique texture that felt gives to your bracelet! Both pieces are lovely and they look beautiful together! The recipients are going to cherish these- thank you so much for joining us for this hop!

  17. Kim Ballor says:

    I liked each of your designs, but together, they are great!

  18. Holly says:

    What gorgeous bracelets! I love them both individually, but together, wow! And those fabric squares, love ’em!

  19. tara linda says:

    OmGosh! These are exquisite!! I LOVE your beads w/ the gold thread.
    Very cool how you used felt & cloth. Fun & original designs 😉
    PS: As a fellow wordpressER- I must ask; are you having any problems posting comments to blogspot blogs?

    • pinkchapeau says:

      yes Tara, on a few of them I didn’t use my wordpress credentials to log in, and it worked better. I actually went through the process of typing in a name, email address and web page. I’m hearing that a lot of people are having similar issues.
      And Thanks for the lovely comments!

  20. These are cool! I love those beads you used…and the felt just adds tremendous texture! They are beautiful together!

  21. Beautiful!!! Both are so pretty but I especially LOVE the felt bracelet! I just want to reach into the screen and touch it’s soft texture!

  22. Lisa Stukel says:

    Thankyou for participating in this campaign to raise awareness for rare illness. I enjoyed reading about your creative process and the bracelets are gorgeous.

  23. Love the use of fiber here!! Fiber Heads unite!! great ideas and I too, love the way the 2 works complement each other!! Bravo!

  24. Lovely beads with an amazing result – they are both gorgeous!

  25. Loved both of these, but the long beads with the tree of life is my favorite. May both be worn with hope with the knowledge they were made with love.

    Lynda

  26. Skye says:

    omg the felt bits are such a cute idea! Damn..I may have to try that at some point now 😉 lol I have those same beads ( the weird shaped ones) only in black and gold 🙂 ..I’ve never seen the round versions though!

  27. How clever to use felt that way! I never would have thought to do that. The color is spot-on. It was fun to see the two bracelets combined, too. Great idea!

  28. Rose Binoya says:

    So pretty! I love the way you stacked the felt to look like a felted bead! And the beads in the second bracelet… swoon.

    I love how they look stacked together!

  29. Karin says:

    VERY cool beads and clever designs. They looked wonderful stacked together. I hope they go to the same family, so they can share the goodness!

  30. Boot~C says:

    love the two stacked w/ each other.

  31. Luv ur creative Guiness with these designs! Brillant!

  32. Lola says:

    I love the beads you used for your bracelets … so pretty. I also love the use of the felt … something so warm and comforting about that. Beautiful!

  33. pinkchapeau says:

    I just want to thank everyone for taking the time to stop by my blog and comment on my bracelets. I really enjoyed making them, and I enjoyed this blog hop. It’s amazing to see how everyone approaches a design challenge differently. I”m packaging my bracelets right now to send to the new owner. I’d love to participate in something like this again-wouldn’t you?

  34. Lori Poppe says:

    I love both of your bracelets! Sorry for the comment today instead of yesterday. After I posted my bracelet, I thought I had blog hopped to everyone but looking today I guess I missed a few. So many wonderful bracelets so little time……LOL! I especially love the Tree of Life charm that you added to your one bracelet. Soooo Beautiful!

  35. Very beautiful bracelets! Love the felt especially. The recipients will be very happy. Hope this comment posts ok. All of the Blogger blog comments today won’t post correctly.

  36. I really love your designs! such a pretty combination of colors and stones

Leave a Reply

