I’ve Joined the Ranks of Bead Hoarders!

And it feels great to admit it!!  So, you are probably wondering how I have become an OFFICIAL bead hoarder!  Well, read on, and by the time you get to the end, you may want to join me!

This is my new refrigerator magnet proclaiming my membership into the  Bead Hoarding club.  I received this from the great folks at A Grain of Sand.  I have bought from them in the past because they have a vast collection of unique vintage components you won’t find anywhere else.  I’ve gotten some great bakelite beads  and some fun lucite, too.

If you read Bead and Button magazine, you may have heard about the Bead Hoard.  It was featured in the February 2012 issue of the magazine.  According to their description, “A string of owners gets the surprise of their lives as a stockpile of vintage beads and findings trades hands over the decades.” Suzanne Branca, owner of A Grain of Sand, was fortunate enough to be able to purchase this vast treasure, which was originally in the warehouse of a jewelry supply company that had gone out of business in the 1980’s, having operated from the 1930’s through that time.

The amount of product was so vast, that Suzanne decided that a great way to liquidate the stock would be to break it into small lots which she sells through her shop for a flat fee.  When you buy one of the treasure boxes, you don’t “pick” anything. It’s all random from the inventory.  You can pay for one month at a time, or you can subscribe to the Bead Hoard Curiosities club for a year for a discounted price.

What can you expect when you get your package?  Here’s a sample of what came in mine this week.  Enjoy!!

I know the pictures are a bit unclear, but I think you get the idea!!!  Now, since it’s Easter weekend, you should make like a bunny rabbit, and hop over to A Grain of Sand, and get your piece of the hoard!

 

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’ve Joined the Ranks of Bead Hoarders!

  1. Wow! You’ve got some beautiful things. Surprise packages of beads are always fun!

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    I agree, Michelle!!! The problem is now, I”m hooked-I think I’m going to buy the year subscription !!

  3. Vee says:

    Oh WOW…nice SURPRISE! I LOVE! ;o) I am a bead hoarder, too but, not an official one as you have become, Terry! ;o) However, I am making like a bunny wabbit (lol) and hopping on over to A Grain of Sand! ;o) Thanks for sharing the information.

  4. pinkchapeau says:

    Vee, if you get a box, you will love it as much as I did ♥

  5. Harry W Wood says:

    Thanks for the heads up on this vendor. I did go buy a one month box to try it out and a few other things.

  6. pinkchapeau says:

    Harry, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Lots of fun and unique things in the box. I’ve already formulated some projects in my head using some of the contents.

    • Harry W Wood says:

      I enjoy surprises and if its not my cup of tea its somewhat vintage and I can sell it. I bought several kilo lots of beads lately and have enjoyed the variety..they are all bone. Now I just have to find the time to do some beading…

  7. Ellen Wodoslawsky Gonchar says:

    I’m going to hop over to this place Terry!! Thanks so much for letting us know about it!

Leave a Reply

