Rocky and The Squirrel

My husband and I had a beautiful orange tabby cat named Rocky.   Rocky was a lovable animal, and thought that everyone was his friend.  He especially loved other animals.  He adored the chipmunks and squirrels on our property, and he would play with them through the windows and the screen door.  They weren’t afraid of him…they would come right up to the door or window and play little games of tag with him and rub noses.

Rocky passed away in April 2010 from stomach cancer.  He had a good life with us, having come to live with us as an orphan on the city streets, found by my husband when he (Rocky) was about 6 months old.  You may remember that I had him immortalized in sculpture as a gift to my husband.

After Rocky passed , we buried him in the backyard because he so loved to look out the windows.  One day in Home Depot, I found a garden statue of a cat with wings and bought it to mark Rocky’s grave.

Today while doing some odd jobs in the kitchen, I happened to look out the window.  What I saw was so darn cute, I knew I had to run and get my camera and try to capture it.  One of our young backyard squirrels was checking Rocky out.  To me, it looked like he was asking Rocky to be his friend and come and play.  I was so afraid that by the time I got the camera ready, the squirrel would run, but he hung out with Rocky for almost 5 minutes.

I put together a slide show of the images I captured.  They are a little fuzzy because I was taking them through a window screen, but hopefully they will warm your heart like they did mine.  Enjoy!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Rocky and The Squirrel

  1. Ellen Wodoslawsky Gonchar says:

    Brought tears to my eyes………..

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    My husband wasn’t here when this happened, but when he got home I showed him the pictures and he was very moved, too.

  3. Valerie says:

    Ohhh how precious Terry. It looks like the squirrel is giving Rocky lots of affection. So sweet.

  4. pinkchapeau says:

    It was amazing 🙂 Val. I’m so glad I saw it.

  5. Thank you so much for sharing this; tears are standing in my eyes. 🙂

  6. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks for coming and taking a look Robin. I’m glad you enjoyed it.

  7. Deb Bee says:

    Terry that was awesome.

  8. Liz says:

    Oh how sweet Terry! 🙂 The little squirrel looks as though he is trying to hug the kitty angel! Our animals play such an important part our animals play in our lives 🙂 ocky was so lucky to have been so loved! 🙂

  9. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks, Liz, I think he was fascinated by the wings!

  10. Gerry says:

    That is precious. So glad you were able to get the shots. Rocky was a good looking kitty. So sorry he crossed over the rainbow bridge. Life would be so lonely without our little people with fur. Hugs. Gerry

  11. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks, Gerry ♥ He sure was a pretty boy. And so sweet.

  12. Vee says:

    It appears as though the squirrel wants to play…how precious! Being a huge animal lover of most all animals…I enjoyed your story. Rocky was a handsome kitty and looks very intelligent here even though the glasses are at his side. ;o)

  13. Therese says:

    Awww…how precious! I love how curious squirrels are. I enjoyed your story, and empathize with your loss.

  14. pinkchapeau says:

    Thank you, Therese. We enjoy watching the squirrels, too.

Leave a Reply

