Jewels in the Dirt

If you’ve been following my blog, or my Facebook page, you probably already know that in addition to jewelry, I love working in my garden.  This time of year, you won’t find me on the computer as much, because I spend my time after I come home from work outside working in the dirt!!

Yesterday and today, I weeded and mulched two rows.  I still have a lot more to do, but I really love the way it’s starting to look.  And we’ve already eaten a LOT from it this year. Lots of lettuce and radishes, and yesterday and today, I picked my first peas.

The birds love to investigate when I am done working….they know that there is probably a nice meal that has been disturbed by my digging.  .

I have been trying to garden in a sustainable manner , using heirloom vegetables, and seed saving. This is the flowering seed head of an onion from 2011.  I have three of these plants, and will get thousands of seeds.

Last year, my top producer was Bennings Green Tint squash. These are a patty pan type, and my plants produced well into the fall. We probably picked two or three of these each day.  These plants are just babies, but I have big expectations for them!

My newly mulched beans. There are three types here…wax beans, green beans, and purple beans.

Last image for the day…..my pride and joy.  I have been trying for three years to raise marigolds from seed….and every year, my seedlings die.  This year, 4 of them actually made it out to the garden.  Much to my pleasant surprise, tonight I found that this one is about to have not one, but two flowers open!

I can’t wait to show you what it looks like in bloom!!

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Jewels in the Dirt

  1. Gerry says:

    Your garden looks great, hard work but a nice reward at the dinner table. Good luck

  2. pinkchapeau says:

    Thanks, it is hard work , but I enjoy it. It’s very relaxing after a long day at work 🙂

  3. Bill says:

    Gardening is so rewarding! I enjoyed reading about your successes- I loved the photo of the onion going to seed. I used to collect marigold seed each Fall for the following year and was amazed how each year how the seed gradually reverted to its ancestors, since the original plants I bought were hybrids.( Bill V.N.)

    • pinkchapeau says:

      HI, Bill! Thanks for taking the time to read my blog 🙂 It means a lot to me to see you here. I know how much you love gardening, too!! If you have a minute, take a look at my facebook page, and look at the photos I took of the bee pollenating the onion flowers…so pretty.

  4. Beetique says:

    So why do you have water bottles between your beans? I don’t have a garden this year. Archie never tilled it for me and I wouldn’t have time to work on one anyway as my work schedule is too bad.

    • pinkchapeau says:

      The bottles serve two purposes, they are hot caps, like little mini vented greenhouses for the seedlings. They also protect the beans as they emerge. I have some type of garden raider who adores those new leaves on the bean seedlings. Once the leaves are chewed off, the seedlings die. I”m not sure what it is that eats them, but I have discovered that the plastic bottles keep them safe until they start to develop secondary leaves. Thanks for looking, and asking 🙂 Sorry that you won’t have a garden, if you lived a little closer, I’d share 🙂

  5. Vee says:

    Terry…I enjoy your blogs about your garden. ;o) Your pictures are very nice. Love the flowering seed head of the onion…would make for nice beads! ;o) I can’t wait to see pictures of your marigolds!

    I am with Debbie though…Tim hasn’t tilled a garden here at our house for several years. The last time we had one our cows got out while we were gone and had themselves a feast! The year before it was deer! ;o) So, if it isn’t the cows or deer we are having to protect the garden from…it’s the rabbits, which may possibly be what is eating at the new growth of your plants. Great idea to use the bottles. We used foil pans and everything but, nothing out here in the country works. If they smell it, they are going to get to it…somehow. ;o) Plus, the past few years we really haven’t had the time to keep one up. Two of our neighbors (both, families of 2…one 700 or so yards away and the other a half-mile away) plants a garden each year. The neighbor closes to us plants one large enough to supply those that live on our dead end road (about 26 houses)…lol. So, we supply seeds and help out when we can in their garden. The other couple (elderly) we help with other things (muscle…things they may need help getting done). “Most” everyone pitches in and looks out for each other on our road…the older generations anyway. ;o)

    I would love to send you some of our seeds! ;o) I will pm you more information, let me know if you are interested. ;o)
    {{{hugs}}}

  6. Pingback: From Bead Soup to Vegetable Soup | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

Leave a Reply

