Did Someone Say “Beach Party?”

I believe that they did!!!  It was my Bead Soup partner, Tara Plote.  I briefly mentioned on my  Facebook page the other day that my Bead Soup package had arrived.  I was absolutely thrilled when I opened the box.

Tara was inspired by her recent Maine vacation, and put together an unbeleievable group of goodies. But what was even more touching for me was the way she packaged it.  The beads arrived in a blue pail, appropriately decorated with all kinds of beach themed dimensional images.  There was also a lovely handwritten note which explained how and why she picked certain items for me.

Inside the pail were bundles of tissue paper in various shades of blue and green, evoking thoughts of cool clear coastal waters.  The bundles contained all kinds of beads and accents.   The color scheme of the beads is blues and earthtones.  The earthier beads bring to mind Maine’s rocky coast, or a sandy beach peppered with shell fragments and driftwood.  There’s a bit of white thrown in for accent in the form of stick pearls and potato pearls.  A handful of tourmaline beads, which have special meaning to Tara, were included.  To top it off, she included some glass blueberry “quartz” in a tribute to Maine’s blueberries.

We were supposed to provide each other with a fancy clasp, and Tara was nice enough to give me a choice between two great toggles-one Tierra Cast, and one lampworked glass.  She chose a beautiful Keith O’Connor ceramic pendant from the Beadin’ Path in Freeport, Maine.  There were also two brass Vintaj charms of a flip flop and a starfish.

So, it would appear that I will be making some sort of beach themed jewelry-no???  This is great, because this is something that I would not have chosen for myself.

Tara is a generous and thoughtful person, and I consider myself extremely fortunate to have been partnered with her for the Bead Soup.  I am anxious to see what she makes with the items I sent to her!!!

I took several pictures of the “unveiling” of the goodies.  Have a look!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Jewelry Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Did Someone Say “Beach Party?”

  1. It certainly looks like this will be a fun project and even though it is almost September, you will be in vacation mode.

  2. Tara says:

    I’m glad you liked it, Terry – can’t wait to see what you create with it!

  3. pinkchapeau says:

    Yes, Ruth, this will be my September “I wish it was still summer” project! I’m starting to mull some ideas around, but nothing concrete yet.

  4. Hilary Frye says:

    How exciting! Love it!

    • pinkchapeau says:

      I do to, Hilary. This will be a chance for me to “spread my wings” a bit more, and do something I might not otherwise do. The beads are even prettier in person.

  5. Pingback: Time for Soup Again! (Bead Soup, That Is!!!) | Pink Chapeau Vintage Jewelry

Leave a comment